Arctic Change 2014

8-12 décembre - Centre des congrès d'Ottawa - Ottawa, Canada

À propos d'Arctic Change 2014

L’Arctique se transforme de façon importante. Les changements climatiques et la modernisation propulsent des enjeux importants, incluant la santé des autochtones, la fonte des glaces, la navigation intercontinentale, la souveraineté, l’exploration pétrolière et gazière ainsi que l’environnement, au premier plan des priorités nationales et internationales. Les nations circumpolaires doivent maintenant élaborer des stratégies et des politiques visant à réduire les impacts négatifs et maximiser les répercussions positives des changements en cours dans l’Arctique.

Tirant parti du succès de sa réunion scientifique annuelle, le Réseau de centres d’excellence ArcticNet ainsi que ses partenaires nationaux et internationaux invitent la communauté de la recherche arctique à Ottawa pour participer à la conférence internationale Arctic Change 2014, qui aura lieu au Centre des congrès d’Ottawa du 8 au 12 décembre 2014.

À l’apogée de la présidence du Canada au Conseil de l’Arctique, Arctic Change 2014 invite les chercheurs, les étudiants, les décideurs, les représentants d'organismes gouvernementaux et non-gouvernementaux, du secteur privé et du Nord ainsi que les médias à venir aborder les défis et les opportunités amenés par les changements climatiques et la modernisation dans la région circumarctique. Avec plus de 1000 participants attendus, Arctic Change 2014 sera une des plus importantes conférences internationales sur la recherche arctique multisectorielle jamais tenues au Canada.

Au plaisir de vous retrouver en grand nombre à Ottawa!

Comité organisateur international

Dr. Martin Fortier (Chair)
Executive Director, ArcticNet
Canada

Dr. Louis Fortier
Scientific Director, ArcticNet
Project leader, CCGS Amundsen
Canada

Dr. Jackie Grebmeier
Chair, Pacific Arctic Group
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Sciences
USA

Dr. David Hik
International Arctic Science Committee (IASC)
Chair, ICARP III
University of Alberta
Canada

Dr. Margareta Johansson
Executive Director, INTERACT
Lund University
Sweden

Dr. Sung-Ho Kang
Korea Polar Research Institute (KOPRI)
South Korea

Dr. Hugues Lantuit
International Permafrost Association (IPA)
Professor, Alfred Wegener Institute
Germany

Dr. Joan Nymand Larsen
International Arctic Social Sciences Association (IASSA)
Stefansson Arctic Institute
Iceland

Dr. Lars-Otto Reiersen
Executive Secretary, Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Programme (AMAP)
Norway

Dr. Denis-Didier Rousseau
Scientific Director, French Arctic Initiative
France

Dr. David Scott
Executive Director, Canadian Polar Commission
Canada

Mr. Duane Smith
President and Vice-Chair, Inuit Circumpolar Council (Canada)
Canada

Arctic Change 2014

8-12 December - Ottawa Convention Centre - Ottawa, Canada

About Arctic Change 2014

The Arctic is undergoing a major transformation. Climate change and modernization are bringing important issues, including the health of Northerners, melting sea-ice, intercontinental shipping, sovereignty, resource exploitation, and the environment, to the forefront of national and international agendas. Circumpolar nations face an increased urgency to expand the observational capacity needed to formulate strategies and policies that will minimize the negative impacts and maximize the positive outcomes of this transformation.

Building on the success of its annual scientific meeting, the ArcticNet Network of Centres of Excellence and its national and international partners are excited to welcome the Arctic research community to Ottawa for the international Arctic Change 2014 conference to be held at the Ottawa Convention Centre from 8-12 December 2014.

Coinciding with the pinnacle of Canada’s Chairmanship of the Arctic Council, Arctic Change 2014 welcomes the participation of international researchers, students, policy and decision makers, representatives of government and non-government organizations, the private sector, northern stakeholders and media to address the global challenges and opportunities arising from climate change and modernization in the circum-Arctic. With over 1000 participants expected to attend, Arctic Change 2014 will be one of the largest trans-sectoral international Arctic research conferences ever held in Canada.

We look forward to welcoming you to Ottawa!

International Organizing Committee

Dr. Martin Fortier (Chair)
Executive Director, ArcticNet
Canada

Dr. Louis Fortier
Scientific Director, ArcticNet
Project leader, CCGS Amundsen
Canada

Dr. Jackie Grebmeier
Chair, Pacific Arctic Group
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Sciences
USA

Dr. David Hik
International Arctic Science Committee (IASC)
Chair, ICARP III
University of Alberta
Canada

Dr. Margareta Johansson
Executive Director, INTERACT
Lund University
Sweden

Dr. Sung-Ho Kang
Korea Polar Research Institute (KOPRI)
South Korea

Dr. Hugues Lantuit
International Permafrost Association (IPA)
Professor, Alfred Wegener Institute
Germany

Dr. Joan Nymand Larsen
International Arctic Social Sciences Association (IASSA)
Stefansson Arctic Institute
Iceland

Dr. Lars-Otto Reiersen
Executive Secretary, Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Programme (AMAP)
Norway

Dr. Denis-Didier Rousseau
Scientific Director, French Arctic Initiative
France

Dr. David Scott
Executive Director, Canadian Polar Commission
Canada

Mr. Duane Smith
President and Vice-Chair, Inuit Circumpolar Council (Canada)
Canada